Author Topic: Repairing car by me: Making messy job even more messy  (Read 13499 times)

Offline james_s

• Super Contributor
Re: Repairing car by me: Making messy job even more messy
« Reply #25 on: May 24, 2017, 11:22:50 pm »
I've been driving Volvos for about 20 years, 8V OHC with a timing belt but also a turbocharger so they're great driving up over the mountains. The NA engines lose a significant amount of power at high altitude but the turbo motors still have plenty of grunt. Timing belt only has be changed every 75k miles or or 5 years so it's not a huge expenditure of effort. The one I had for the longest had 318K on it and was still running strong when a truck rear ended me and totaled it.

Offline calexanian

• Super Contributor
    • Alex-Tronix
« Reply #26 on: May 24, 2017, 11:29:51 pm »
I am going to ignore the fact that you should not just replace rings and you should to a proper bore and hone and piston replacement. Also that this all should be done with the engine out, and under very clean conditions, and that you should really just be rebuilding the engine, or get a cheap replacement engine. Additionally all of the journals will need to be re ground and polished and the bearing shells replaced, etc, etc, etc. but......

I am assuming you have just pulled the head and dropped the pan, and undone the big end bolts and pulled the pistons out. Be sure you keep the right piston/rod and big end sets together and be sure to put them back in the same locations. DO NOT PUT THEM BACK IN A DIFFERENT ORDER or you will defiantly need a total rebuild.