Author Topic: Should I request a check for voltage stability from my electrical company?  (Read 2854 times)

Offline mcinqueTopic starter

• Supporter
  • I know that I know nothing
This is about 1 hour logging and wasn't the worst day.
Since the check would cost me some bucks if they don't find anything that they consider "abnormal", in your opinion is this something that can be considered "normal" in electric domestic supply stability?
I'm aware that there are tolerances between electrical companies and countries but I'm asking to you all just to understand if I must request the check for the worst day - with many more deep variations - or if this can be enough.

Offline ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
I'm not a standards expert, but from practice, this is more or less normal. I've seen much worse.
Alex

Offline james_s

• Super Contributor
It's hard to tell the duration of those narrow low spikes due to the width of the graph line. Are they sustained dips for a significant duration, or are they just momentary blips caused by something like an air conditioning or heat pump compressor or other large motor load starting? Overall it doesn't look too bad to me, are you having problems like clocks getting reset, computers rebooting or other malfunctions?

• Supporter
It's hard to tell the duration of those narrow low spikes due to the width of the graph line. Are they sustained dips for a significant duration, or are they just momentary blips caused by something like an air conditioning or heat pump compressor or other large motor load starting?
Their duration is between 1 and 20 seconds. Sometimes it goes 190V and remains like that for half an hour.

I'm the only residential user on this line. The other one is a farmer with 380V water pump motors used for irrigations and probably some other 380V electrical devices. I'm sure he has a "pressure motor" (I don't know how it's called in english a motor that keeps pressure always active 24/h).