Author Topic: Show your favorite and most used benchtop PSU  (Read 180018 times)

Online capt bullshot

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Show your favorite and most used benchtop PSU
« Reply #450 on: January 08, 2018, 01:47:57 AM »
It was my first PSU and I had build it myself - 35 years ago. I had no clue about design, no clue about electronics, there was no internet and no help far and wide.
Is it all the same with us EE's? Must have been around 1988 when I built my own lab supply - from similar prerequisites than yours.
I had a transformer, some electrolytic caps, fan heatsink and a few other components as a starting point. So I made this one from scratch:

The enclosure and digital meters were from Conrad, other parts purchased at a local electronics shop at Darmstadt (where I was an EE student then). All the electronics was build on perfboard, I didn't bother to draw a schematic diagram. Nobody told me a 250VA / 2x24V is not sufficient for a dual channel 24V / 5A lab supply, so built it to this spec. And, yes it worked. One can overload the transformer, I've attached a thermal sensor to it to keep it from overheating. I can't remember the details, but some way I've made a output stage out of 2 2N3773 and a BD139 that required only a bit more than the transistors Vbe drop to regulate, so the 24V goal was reached (with some ripple at max. current). I vaguely remember charge pump based auxiliary voltages of 5V below GND and 5V above input rail to do the trick.
The fan is temperature controlled (on/off) by temperature sensors mounted on the heat sinks, same sensors shut down the output in case of over temperature (this happens if you short the output at max. current setting).