Author Topic: The Hyperloop: BUSTED  (Read 129495 times)

Offline wraper

• Supporter
Re: The Hyperloop: BUSTED
« Reply #225 on: January 16, 2018, 12:46:43 pm »
Junctions for thermal expansion compensation are completely possible. They need to hold only 1 bar of pressure, therefore could be made even from soft polymer.

Offline hayatepilot

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #226 on: January 16, 2018, 01:53:15 pm »
Since some revived this old thread I watched the video in the first post. I find it cringeworthy. Commercial airliners are made of aluminium composite material and they deal with similar pressures safely so why is that suddenly a problem for the hyperloop?
I'm not a mechanical engineer, yet I can think of many show-stopper problems and why this comparison with planes is not meaningful.
The airplane is just an example of a pressure vessel made as light as possible and yet it withstands similar pressure differences like the hyperloop is supposed to do. Actually an oil or gas pipeline is pretty much comparable to the build scale of a hyperloop tube (and oil and gas pipeline use much higher pressures). It is not like they are building something completely new. For once don't ignore the fact a lot of very smart people are working on building hyperloops allover the world and have working prototypes. Now it all comes down to whether it makes sense economically or not (which intrinsically means getting it safe to operate).
The problem with the pressure difference is not with the pod but with the tube!
It is very important whether the pressure differential is positive or negative. If you have a vacuum inside a tube the walls must be very thick to prevent buckling. And if the tube gets kinked enough then the whole tube collapses in on itself.
If the pressure is on the inside then the tube can withstand much higher pressure differentials.

Offline nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
« Reply #227 on: January 16, 2018, 03:00:36 pm »