Author Topic: Thoughts on AFDD's being recommended per BS 7671 18th Ed effective 1st Jan 2019?  (Read 913 times)

Offline FaithTopic starter

• Supporter
Hey everyone!~ It just came to my knowledge that AFDD's/AFCI's aka "Arc Fault Detection Devices" have made their way into the UK electrical code as a "recommendation" effective 1st Jan 2019.

Thoughts?

I have no personal experience with them but I recall reading loads of complaints about them from across the pond where if I recall they're mostly mandatory now.

They're supposedly extremely prone to nuisance trips especially with common machinery you'd expect even in a small workshop (think electric saws, drills and the like) but I've also seen stories of them tripping from even more mundane appliances such as vacuum cleaners, cordless phones, treadmills, radios, and et cetera.

AFDD's are supposedly designed to look for a waveform which resembles that of an arc due to shoddy wiring or compromised insulation while not reacting to something from say an electric motor brush.

Sounds like a complete load of crap to me though? Not to mention how bloody expensive these damn things are and how much space they occupy in a consumer unit.

I just cannot imagine how they can possibly test for every single "unintended" vs "intended" scenario.
<3 ~Faith~

Offline German_EE

• Super Contributor
See where one of these devices is tested, it doesn't do too well.
Should you find yourself in a chronically leaking boat, energy devoted to changing vessels is likely to be more productive than energy devoted to patching leaks.

Warren Buffett

Offline tooki

• Super Contributor
The thing is, I think it worked as it was supposed to: it did not react to transient arcs, only to a sustained arc. If they reacted to every transient spark, you’d have constant nuisance tripping.

Offline FaithTopic starter

• Supporter
Yep, his method of testing would likely not be too dissimilar to flipping a light switch.