Author Topic: Was Don Lancaster really a "guru"?  (Read 29899 times)

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: Was Don Lancaster really a "guru"?
« Reply #125 on: December 06, 2018, 08:06:45 pm »
There are many that have been in print that long, though I agree, I can't think of any that close to the component level that have survived.

Examples of long term survivors.

Fields and Waves in Communications Electronics by Ramo, Whinnery and Van Duzer.  First published in 1965.  Current price is almost 15 times what I paid in the early seventies.

That book was the text for a graduate course in Microwave Electronics I took in 1989. Van Duzer was not involved then!

On the theory side, once someone hits a home run it tends to last a long, long time.

Especially if the theory doesn't change!

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
« Reply #126 on: December 06, 2018, 08:07:30 pm »
:-DD I actually read that (Dianetics) once. Mein Kampf was less retarded.

Mighty low standard, this.

Online T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
« Reply #127 on: December 06, 2018, 08:56:47 pm »
Handbook of Mathematical Functions.  Abramowitz and Stegun.  First published in 1964.  A bit of cheat since it is now a Dover reprint.

Introduction to the Theory of Random Signals and Noise.  Davenport and Root.  First published in 1958.

I know of several others and suspect there are many more.  Things like Feynman's lectures (maybe not exactly electronics), and Donald Knuth's series.

Don't forget RAND's One Million Random Digits, truly a spellbinding epic. ;D

Tim
Seven Transistor Labs, LLC
Electronic design, from concept to prototype.
Bringing a project to life?  Send me a message!

The following users thanked this post: MK14

Offline rhb

• Super Contributor
« Reply #128 on: December 07, 2018, 12:21:48 am »