Author Topic: What are these relays?  (Read 6072 times)

Offline primegapsTopic starter

• Contributor
What are these relays?
« on: March 01, 2017, 09:05:44 am »
Hi! I'm a real electronics beginner, but I've found that I'm obsessed with older analog gear, and I'm just starting to get into the more modern stuff. I have quite a bit of electronics experience from schooling, but I have not messed around much on my own at all.

I have these mercury wetted contact relays, made by Potter and Brumfield and I wasn't quite sure what they were or what i could do with them.
They look gorgeous and are so shiny it hurts. I can't find any information on the particular model i have, although I see a few other similar looking models for sale on ebay and the such. If you know anything about these, I would love to know! So far, they just sit with my other old stuff in my collection.

These two each have a different graphic silkscreened onto them, but they are the same model.

Thanks for reading!

Offline fubar.gr

• Supporter
    • Fubar.gr
Re: What are these relays?
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2017, 12:11:46 pm »
These are socketed relays for switching big electrical loads like motors. The sockets are usually DIN rail compatible for installation in standard circuit breaker boxes.

They come in pretty much standard pinouts for easy replacement. Here is a modern one, although the pinout doesn't match

Offline Gyro

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2017, 12:24:25 pm »
They are rare treasures these days due to the phasing out of Mercury in products (don't worry, the mercury is safely hermetically encapsulated). The overriding advantages of Mercury wetted relays are:

1. Wetted contacts ( ::)) - They are  capable of switching down to zero current and zero voltage (very useful for signal level switching -  instrumentation or maybe audio).
2. Zero contact bounce - They are the only mechanical relays capable of this feat.
3. Low and predictable contact resistance.