Author Topic: What's this please? (Component Advice)  (Read 1220666 times)

Offline Cyberdragon

• Super Contributor
Re: What's this please? (Component Advice)
« Reply #1200 on: June 17, 2017, 11:22:48 pm »
That's a bloody Nippon Chemicon! Check to see if it still works.
*BZZZZZZAAAAAP*
Voltamort strikes again!
Explodingus - someone who frequently causes accidental explosions

The following users thanked this post: Gadgetman

Offline Gadgetman

• Contributor
  • Complete newbie to electronics - please be patient
    • Design & Drafting Solutions
« Reply #1201 on: June 18, 2017, 12:13:38 am »
I will sure check, but being a novice, I am not sure if you mean they are "indestructible" or "gold plated"  ;) and if they work, should I leave them as they are because of their brilliant reputation; or should I replace them? Bear in mind that they are 50 years old and even if they still work, should I trust them to continue to work and for how long?
Barefeet but still wearing spurs

Offline rsjsouza

• Super Contributor
  • Eternally curious
    • Vbe - vídeo blog eletrônico
« Reply #1202 on: June 18, 2017, 11:56:09 am »
Nippon Chemi-chon capacitors have excellent reputation for durability. Despite this, the particular dielectric technology can have a limited lifespan regardless of the brand.

I hate replacing parts without need, but it is very difficult to properly test this capacitor throughout its voltage range of 1.5kV - you never know if it has a leak that manifests itself only after a specific voltage.

All in all, if you can spare the time you can leave the capacitor, repair everything else, reassemble the unit and test it - if it works well you leave it there but if it doesn't you have a suspect.
Vbe - vídeo blog eletrônico http://videos.vbeletronico.com