Author Topic: Why am I doing that's causing my credit cards to get fraudulently used?  (Read 8121 times)

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
do you use the cards in places that handle the card and possibly memorize the card number and ccv ?

I usually put a sticker over the ccv, makes it harder to just look at the card and get enough info to use it online

Masking the CCV is a great idea. It prevents the cashier who takes your card at the restaurant from writing it down. Again, that's a habit that restaurants really need to break, or be broken of.

You don't need the CCV with in-person point-of-sale purchases, but you need it for online purchases. And since I do online purchases from my laptop, I have my credit card account list on it, so I can refer to the CCV when necessary. That list is stored in an encrypted disk image, with a unique password not known to the password manager.

Apple Pay makes all of this uninteresting.

Offline langwadt

• Super Contributor
do you use the cards in places that handle the card and possibly memorize the card number and ccv ?

I usually put a sticker over the ccv, makes it harder to just look at the card and get enough info to use it online

Masking the CCV is a great idea. It prevents the cashier who takes your card at the restaurant from writing it down. Again, that's a habit that restaurants really need to break, or be broken of.

You don't need the CCV with in-person point-of-sale purchases, but you need it for online purchases. And since I do online purchases from my laptop, I have my credit card account list on it, so I can refer to the CCV when necessary. That list is stored in an encrypted disk image, with a unique password not known to the password manager.

it isn't such a big issue anymore, everything here is chip and they bring the terminal to the table

Offline Halcyon

• Global Moderator

What a great idea.  :-+