Author Topic: Why are Scientific papers nowadays written in a convoluted and pretentious way?  (Read 9941 times)

Offline MrOmnosTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • BE in Electronics and Communication
I am a newbie and I have not read many papers but those I have read have really put me off. There seems be a race going on to come up with coolest and complex looking titles. They use terms that can be easily replaced with simpler terms ( I am not talking about the scientific terms). I mean what the hell? I feel like these are the people that are trying too hard to impress. If you are one of those, please stop!!

There was a paper I read a while back on Quantum Illumination and the damn thing was so well written, it was like reading a really interesting story. I mean have you read Einstein's papers. The titles are so elegantly put together and the papers are like reading a Novel. (I think they were translated but still)

May be I am just stupid don't understand the stuff but this is what I feel. Do you agree or disagree, please post your opinions.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2016, 07:54:02 pm by MrOmnos »

The following users thanked this post: AutomationGuy

Online Kleinstein

• Super Contributor
Sometimes it is translations that causes silly sounding language / titles.

For the US there is the tendency to make 5 papers with essentially the same contend - so they must have at least a different sounding title.

Also the use of search engines makes it sometimes better to have a longer title with more catch words - just to make sure they are easier to find. Silly - but search engine optimization is not limited to google. 

Online jpanhalt

• Super Contributor
I'm sure that leveraging the input of all affected stakeholders we can achieve a targeted outcome, going forward.

Make that "data based, targeted outcome,..." and you will have sufficiently described the nature of the paper to enable learners to achieve maximum benefit efficiency.

John

Offline AutomationGuy