Author Topic: Why I often wonder about Windows Update  (Read 11607 times)

Offline rdlTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Why I often wonder about Windows Update
« on: May 14, 2017, 04:30:51 am »
Why I often wonder about Windows Update are things like this.

I've been using Windows 7 on one computer for about six months without any updates. Last year Windows Update was changed a lot and for a long time it barely worked. It would sit and claim it was downloading updates but actually do nothing for hours on end. This was a fresh install, so it had never been updated, ever. The recent ransomware thing reminded me of this, so yesterday I started up Windows Update.

It went well actually. It connected quickly and I was able to download all the security type updates and get them installed in about an hour, including the latest rollup which had the fix for the ransomware problem.

I didn't think about it again until tonight when I noticed the update notification icon had appeared. What now? It just updated yesterday. I look and it's a security update, KB2532531, but it says it was published in 2014, so of course I clicked for more information.

Wow, it's a "Critical" security update for... Bluetooth. What? This computer has no hardware for Bluetooth and no Bluetooth device has ever been plugged into it. Why?

Wait a minute, this Security Bulletin dates from... 2011 and it says KB2566220. At least agreed about the Bluetooth part.

I hid the update and made a note to install it next time I feel like restarting the computer.

Offline amspire

• Super Contributor
Re: Why I often wonder about Windows Update
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2017, 04:44:56 am »
You cannot blame Microsoft for that. Windows is a package that comes with heaps of drivers by default - mouse drivers, keyboards, cameras, Bluetooth, etc. If the support is a standard part of the operating system, they need to update no security bugs and vulnerabilities.