Author Topic: Worth buying Fluke 27 if i have 87?  (Read 3711 times)

Offline pcm81Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
Worth buying Fluke 27 if i have 87?
« on: December 09, 2018, 05:32:20 pm »
There are endless threads about just how wonderful old fluke gear can be etc. This is not one of those threads.
There are endless discussions online about fluke being vs not being worth the money. This is not one of those threads.

I have a rather specific situation.
I am an engineer for an aviation company, so i can most definitely appreciate mil-spec products. Which is why i am looking at fluke 27FM
I am a home DIYer, but i am not running backdoor electronics shop from my garage.
The problem is that I already have Fluke 87, I believe it is version 1 or 2. Definitely not ver 5.
My question is this: Is there any reason to buy fluke 27?
They are built like a tank, I kind-of want one, just because they are built like a brick outhouse, but i am looking for some kind of "functional" justification to spend $50-$100 on one since I already have 87...

Thanks

I guess if someone breaks into my house I could punch them in the face with fluke 27 harder than i could with my current 87... Any other advantages?

Offline shteii01

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Worth buying Fluke 27 if i have 87?
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2018, 06:16:39 pm »
I have Fluke 27FM, I do electrical assembly in industrial environment, in other words: I build machines for factories.  I wanted something that is built like a tank and was accurate and had brand name.

Don't buy Fluke 27FM.  Why not?
1.  It does not sound like you need the tank quality.
2.  It does not have back light.
3.  It is kinda slow.
4.  It is big.

If you don't need brand name, get Bryman.  If you do need the brand name, and there are times that you do need it, then get Fluke 117 or some other 11x series.

Offline GreyWoolfe

• Supporter
  • NW0LF
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2018, 11:09:52 pm »
Don't buy Fluke 27FM.  Why not?