Author Topic: Xilinx sends lawyers after online educators.  (Read 31340 times)

Offline janoc

• Super Contributor
Re: Xilinx sends lawyers after online educators.
« Reply #100 on: January 11, 2019, 05:06:22 pm »
what if you use LVDT or something for sensing ?

Haven't seen those being used in CNC machines.

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
« Reply #101 on: January 11, 2019, 05:09:32 pm »
Quite a few modern microcontrollers - most notably a few new PICs and the Cypress PSoC series - have some programmable logic to allow unusual port I/O that previously required some form of external logic. I see that as the start of microcontrollers gaining FPGA-like abilities.

In a nutshell, that is why Intel bought Altera.

What I would like to see is a low cost FPGA with a hard microcontroller inside - it seems like the only options currently available are to use an external microcontroller (more cost/space, limited I/O interconnectivity) or to inefficiently create a soft core in the FPGA and significantly increase the design size.

It's the "low-cost" criterion that is the problem. It might be that the packaging that melds the micro and the FPGA fabric is "expensive," so it's warranted only on the high-end of things (think Zync). Bumping up a size of FPGA to accommodate a soft core might still have you in a chip that's less expensive than one with a hard core processor.

Make that low cost enough and it will be a real hit among advanced microcontroller developers. Now when they have to interface some weird device that's timing sensitive, rather than try to figure out how to (mis)use one of the peripherals to generate the waveforms or bit bang it in software while having to contend with making it work with the interrupts, they just program some logic to do exactly what they want.

I suppose the example here is Cypress PSoC, parts with which I admit that I have no experience.