Author Topic: position and size of PCB designators  (Read 191 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online Simon

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 11412
  • Country: gb
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
position and size of PCB designators
« on: May 16, 2018, 06:02:13 pm »
Each time I start a new PCB layout I have to faf around editing the size or every component designator, is there a way to set a default ?
https://www.simonselectronics.co.uk/shop New stock now in of EEVblog Brymen 235 and uCurrent Gold, Now selling a selection of Probe Master probes
 

Offline Jeroen3

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2814
  • Country: nl
  • Embedded Engineer
    • jeroen3.nl
Re: position and size of PCB designators
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2018, 06:12:36 pm »
On initial start of board design. Select all designators, and move them slightly.
 

Online Simon

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 11412
  • Country: gb
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: position and size of PCB designators
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2018, 06:24:08 pm »
Can you expand on that ?
https://www.simonselectronics.co.uk/shop New stock now in of EEVblog Brymen 235 and uCurrent Gold, Now selling a selection of Probe Master probes
 

Offline Fire Doger

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 99
  • Country: 00
  • Stefanos
Re: position and size of PCB designators
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2018, 06:28:59 pm »
In AD you can use a text in silkscreen layer in footprint lib with text .Designator or '.Designator' (you have to enable and the "special text" or something similar in layer settings, I am from phone right now)
After placement you can hide all auto generated designators and use these included in libraries.
One problem is that it doesn't support center anchor in PCB text.
The other is that I am not sure if on bottom placement it mirrors the text or only sets the layer to bot silkscreen.
« Last Edit: May 16, 2018, 06:31:10 pm by Fire Doger »
 

Offline T3sl4co1l

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 10354
  • Country: us
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
Re: position and size of PCB designators
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2018, 07:55:15 pm »
Also in AD there are component defaults under Preferences.  No idea if they dropped that from CS...

If nothing else, use a query IsDesignator to select them all, then assign whatever properties you like.

Tim
Seven Transistor Labs, LLC
Electronic Design, from Concept to Layout.
Need engineering assistance? Drop me a message!
 

Offline voltsandjolts

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 482
  • Country: gb
Re: position and size of PCB designators
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2018, 08:04:52 pm »
I'm surprised to see a forum moderator posting the same question on two forums at the same time.
I thought that was bad netiquette.

https://www.element14.com/community/thread/63913/l/default-designator-sizes-in-pcb
 

Offline rachaelp

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 105
  • Country: gb
Re: position and size of PCB designators
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2018, 08:21:56 pm »
I'm surprised to see a forum moderator posting the same question on two forums at the same time.
I thought that was bad netiquette.

https://www.element14.com/community/thread/63913/l/default-designator-sizes-in-pcb

If he'd posted it in two or more sections of the EEVBlog forum that would be bad netiquette, but posting it here, the largest EE forum on the internet, where he is a moderator, and on element14 which is entirely separate and has a dedicated forum for Circuit Studio, doesn't seem like an issue to me.
I have a weakness for Test Equipment so can often be found having a TEA break (http://www.eevblog.com/forum/chat/test-equipment-anonymous-(tea)-group-therapy-thread/)
 

Online Simon

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 11412
  • Country: gb
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: position and size of PCB designators
« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2018, 09:04:18 pm »
I'm surprised to see a forum moderator posting the same question on two forums at the same time.
I thought that was bad netiquette.

https://www.element14.com/community/thread/63913/l/default-designator-sizes-in-pcb

If he'd posted it in two or more sections of the EEVBlog forum that would be bad netiquette, but posting it here, the largest EE forum on the internet, where he is a moderator, and on element14 which is entirely separate and has a dedicated forum for Circuit Studio, doesn't seem like an issue to me.

I never knew we had 100% shared membership...... Element14 is the "official" place although I often get better and faster options here. I have in fact had entirely different answers from each forum and i use the term "forum" with respect to E14 very very loosely...
https://www.simonselectronics.co.uk/shop New stock now in of EEVblog Brymen 235 and uCurrent Gold, Now selling a selection of Probe Master probes
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf