Author Topic: BES-AFE-1: Bioelectric Signal Analog Front-end for ECGs  (Read 3818 times)

Offline trophosphereTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
BES-AFE-1: Bioelectric Signal Analog Front-end for ECGs
« on: November 30, 2016, 01:06:16 am »
Hello everyone.

I have finally decided to hop onboard the crowd-funding campaign train and am very happy/proud to present a project I have been working on for about the past 3 months. Being that this is an engineering forum, and to make it worth more your time, I have included photos and specifications that are not available anywhere else at this time.

The campaign is on Crowd Supply if you wish to be on the mailing list for when the project launches which is planned for mid-January 2017.

What is it?
The BES-AFE-1 is a fully functional single lead electrocardiograph (ECG) analog front-end module designed for prototyping or for integration in user designs. It consists of input protection, amplification, right-leg drive feedback, reference generation, 60Hz notch filtering (configurable to 50Hz during purchase or by the user), anti-aliasing, and buffering for direct connection to an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) of the user’s choice. The module has been designed to offer the user a low noise, low offset, and low power solution in a compact easy-to-use form factor.

Target Audience
  • Makers/Hobbyists
  • Academic (Teaching lab and used by students as a component in their senior design/capstone project)

Overview of Specifications
  • Voltage Range: Single or Bipolar supplies: 1.8v (±0.90) to +5.5v (±2.75v)
  • Current Consumption: 180µA to 290uA over allowed voltage gamut
  • Size: 2" by 0.6" (50.8mm by 15.24mm)
  • Bandwidth: 100Hz with notch at 60Hz (A version) or 50Hz (B version)
  • Filters: First order High-Pass at 0.8Hz and Fourth Order Low-Pass at 100Hz (Bessel). Secondary gain stage has a first-order low pass at ~96Hz
  • Notch Depth: >20dB on the bench