Author Topic: Oscilloscope, Signal Gen, Power Supply, Protocol Analyzer & Multimeter for $25!  (Read 7109 times)

Offline Esposch T. TapirTopic starter

• Contributor
This is EEVBlog, so I'll keep the bullshit to a minimum.

I'm a freshly graduated Electrical Engineer and this what I've been spending the last year and a bit working on:
https://www.crowdsupply.com/espotek/labrador

It is basically a whole lab on one board: scope, signal gen, power supply, bus sniffer, multimeter.  Everything.
What separates it from existing products is the cost.  It's only $25, and this includes postage worldwide (I refused to have one postage cost for the US and one for everyone else).
It's also extremely small, 100% open-source and the software is *really* nice to use.  A video will be coming soon that shows off the software.

The specs are fairly basic compared to something like an Analog Discovery or a "traditional" lab setup -  but it's good enough for your average maker/student while being cheap enough to get people into real electronics.  I went over the units from my degree and most of the experiments could be performed with Labrador.  High voltage and high frequency were a killer.

I'm extremely proud of my project and genuinely believe that it has the potential to bring proper, practical electronics understanding to the maker community and encourage kids to pursue electrical engineering.
Currently I'm 40% funded (out of a $9000 target) and have yet to contact any media outlet.

Would love to hear some feedback from you guys.

~Chris
« Last Edit: August 25, 2016, 09:53:21 am by Esposch T. Tapir »
Bachelor of Engineering (ECSE) with Honours.
Every time I write a line of code or build a circuit I am reminded that, in the grand scheme of things, I know bugger all.

Offline edy

• Super Contributor
    • DevHackMod Channel
Nice project! I have this right now, which I'm sure you've heard about:

http://www.gabotronics.com/development-boards/xmega-xprotolab.htm