Author Topic: Snickerdoodle?  (Read 7152 times)

Offline jarrodhrobersonTopic starter

• Contributor
Snickerdoodle?
« on: October 09, 2015, 09:57:46 pm »
What do you guys think about this?

https://www.crowdsupply.com/krtkl/snickerdoodle

That looks like an awful lot of expensive IC's to be at the price point they are promising?

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: Snickerdoodle?
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2015, 10:41:08 pm »

That looks like an awful lot of expensive IC's to be at the price point they are promising?

It's gotta be subsidized. Either that, or they expect to sell 500,000 of them so they can get the $75 Zynq down to something less than the selling price. And their $55k goal ain't gonna do it.

Offline crispy_tofu

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2015, 10:54:45 pm »

Because each component and it’s upgradable counterpart are made by the same respective manufacturer, we are able to realize combined volume discounts across multiple SKUs - helping us pass savings for both the base and upgraded models along to you.

Hmmmm...  :-X
« Last Edit: October 13, 2015, 09:02:36 am by crispy_tofu »

Offline Junkers

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2015, 01:56:56 am »
Is 28K logic cells a reasonable amount of logic for a FPGA?

Offline fake-name

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2015, 02:29:31 am »

Where are you seeing that? The two options have 430K and 1.3M gates, respectively.

Online tggzzz

• Super Contributor
  • Numbers, not adjectives
    • Having fun doing more, with less
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2015, 11:02:12 am »
Snickerdoodle avoids one fault common in "amateur/hobbyist" boards: it has sufficient well-distributed GND pins on the connectors.

Another traditional weak spot is IO Voltages and PSU voltage sequencing, particularly with different IOBank voltages; the Zynq is sensitive to that. I haven't assessed their design, and would be interested in informed comments.