Author Topic: Fake Hakko FX-888D  (Read 3103 times)

Offline Greg65Topic starter

• Contributor
Fake Hakko FX-888D
« on: April 25, 2019, 04:29:05 am »
Hi,
I was going to buy a new Hakko FX-888D on ebay but soon learned that there are many fake ones out there. The dead give away was the price as they are very cheap to buy. They look very much identical, are they any good and whats the difference ?

Offline Nusa

• Super Contributor
Re: Fake Hakko FX-888D
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2019, 05:37:14 am »

Offline odessa

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2019, 07:54:46 am »
So, it seems if you want a good quality copy for free, you can buy it on eBay then claim a refund and keep the copy .... win win  ;D
When  I die I want to die peacefully in my sleep like my Grandad ... Not all shouting and screaming like the passengers on his bus.

Offline Raj

• Frequent Contributor
  • Self taught, experimenter, noob(ish)
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2019, 02:09:08 pm »
As far as I know, it's just a self heating metal rod with grounding. If the heater, tip design & plating and PID formula is same, they'll perform equal. Correct me if i'm wrong, but by buying original, you support the inventor.

Does hakko have their own store?
« Last Edit: April 25, 2019, 02:11:35 pm by Raj »

Offline odessa

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2019, 02:13:13 pm »
I would always buy genuine, but if enough people bought the fakes and got full refunds then eventually the fakes will stop appearing on Ebay.
When  I die I want to die peacefully in my sleep like my Grandad ... Not all shouting and screaming like the passengers on his bus.

Offline //Matt//

• Contributor
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2019, 08:05:38 pm »
The original is going to last longer and be more robust. I don't know how safe these fakes are either.
... by buying original, you support the inventor.
That is true as well.

Offline KL27x

• Super Contributor
« Reply #6 on: April 27, 2019, 01:12:57 am »