Author Topic: HDMI Surge Protection  (Read 3116 times)

Offline Raj

• Frequent Contributor
  • Self taught, experimenter, noob(ish)
Re: HDMI Surge Protection
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2018, 04:24:28 pm »
Just protection from interference. Won't protect from lightening happening on top of your house. Cause my guess is, it's just an inline ferrite and some tvs diodes.

Better to buy a better cable if you are facing some kind of interference problem like occasional disconnections as if cable was loosely connected.

Offline Ice-Tea

• Super Contributor
    • Freelance Hardware Engineer
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2018, 05:36:11 pm »
There are dedicated ESD protection ICs for HDMI/DP/whatever. I'm sure it does *something* for a little surge as well. But to stop a 'real' lightning strike you'd probably need something more beefy, thus more capacitance and thus you can kiss signal integrity goodbye.

In conclusion: if it works, it probably doesn't work.  :-DD

Online T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2018, 06:41:42 pm »
I don't see anything about filtering?  It's probably just an array of ESD diodes and two connectors!

What would you need such a device for?  Dealing with shitty (poorly shielded) cables?

BTW, the specs are probably read directly off the TVS datasheet, meaning it can withstand those stimuli.  That doesn't mean there's any actual effectiveness in protecting equipment.  (Preferably you might use two, one on each end of a long cable, to protect source and load.  You definitely wouldn't put it in the middle as an extension between two cords.)

Tim
Seven Transistor Labs, LLC
Electronic design, from concept to prototype.
Bringing a project to life?  Send me a message!

Offline jchambleeTopic starter

« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2018, 07:19:18 pm »
Thanks for all the responses!