Author Topic: "Wheel of death" travel adapter  (Read 4533 times)

Offline bd139Topic starter

• Super Contributor
"Wheel of death" travel adapter
« on: January 13, 2019, 05:33:16 pm »
This looks "interesting". Imagine what happens if it goes wrong  :palm:

https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/travel-adapters/2604682/

I'm surprised something like that got cert!

Offline wraper

• Supporter
Re: "Wheel of death" travel adapter
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2019, 05:38:49 pm »
Nothing happens. It's safer than most of the universal travel adapters. All of the plugs are always insulated from each other.

The following users thanked this post: newbrain

Offline Raj

• Frequent Contributor
  • Self taught, experimenter, noob(ish)
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2019, 05:45:41 pm »
By not looking at it with detail... One would assume, there's no switch, and all plus are connected to each other.

Looking at it carefully, you'll see that the socket is acting like a rotary switch.

The worst that could happen, hitting it and impailing yourself

Offline bd139Topic starter

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2019, 05:48:43 pm »
I am aware you're not going to kill yourself (immediately) with it.

I am aware however what happens if it gets damp inside or the contacts are made of chinesium and end up spreading themselves all around the rotor. It's rated for 16A apparently as well.

And yes it's safer than most. I've got a shucko to UK extension lead like this for Euro travel:

« Last Edit: January 13, 2019, 05:50:16 pm by bd139 »

Offline wraper

• Supporter
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2019, 05:53:29 pm »
And yes it's safer than most. I've got a shucko to UK extension lead like this for Euro travel:

Then take another 4 with you.

Offline wraper

• Supporter
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2019, 05:58:58 pm »
BTW of course I don't know about it's internal construction. But as I see it, there easily could be more than 15 mm of creepage distance between the plugs at any time.