Author Topic: EAGLE crashes when trying to edit device  (Read 3856 times)

Offline markus-kTopic starter

• Supporter
EAGLE crashes when trying to edit device
« on: February 15, 2017, 09:29:06 am »
Hey everybody,

I'm new to the EEVblog forums, hello  :)

I created a new library in EAGLE (version 8.0) yesterday with two devices in it, but for some reason, EAGLE started to crash every time I try to edit the devices.. Editing the symbols and using them works, but editing devices doesn't. You grab a copy here (.lbr upload not allowed it seems): https://proper.backfire.racing/share/custom.lbr. Can someone try if it crashes their EAGLE too? I tried EAGLE 8.0.0 and 8.0.1 on Mac. Are there any known workarounds?

If it crashed for everybody I have to see if I can get a bug report submitted to that monster of Autodesk I guess  ::)

Thank you

Offline Karel

• Super Contributor
Re: EAGLE crashes when trying to edit device
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2017, 10:01:26 am »
Seems to work fine here with V7.70 on Linux.

• Supporter
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2017, 10:19:08 am »
Hm, seems to work with an old EAGLE 7 I found too.

I just found the Autodesk Forums for EAGLE, but once I log in it just redirects me to an error page in an infinite loop. Oh well Autodesk, can you please not break all the things...

Offline Karel

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2017, 10:30:29 am »
Oh well Autodesk, can you please not break all the things...

Don't hold your breath...

Offline jgarc063

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2017, 05:51:22 pm »
Hi markus-k,

The library editor problem has already been reported and we are working to get a speedy fix out. It doesn't affect all Mac users, so it's been a bear to reproduce. In the future, it's probably better to report issues to the Autodesk EAGLE forum. Make sure that you have an Autodesk account in order to be able to post there.

Hope this helps.

Best Regards,
Jorge Garcia

• Supporter