Author Topic: Eagle newbie, please review  (Read 8044 times)

Offline casper.bangTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • Pro SE, amateur EE.
    • BangBits
Eagle newbie, please review
« on: December 03, 2014, 07:15:56 pm »
Rather than try to layout my own board from scratch (which I have never done before), I decided to modify an existing through-hole (open source hardware) design from blinkstick.com and try to get a compact SMT board. The goal is as tiny a board as possible, which will mimic a standard USB connector once covered with a few layers of heatshrink sleeve.

I am pretty happy with what I have now, but Eagle is complaining about various clearance issues. Could a kind soul please help improve the design so that it can be submitted for prototype production?

1) Are the clearance issues really an issue in practice (production) or the default clearance rules simply too strict?
2) I have been advised to do a ground flood fill, but I am not sure how to do that?!
3) Are vias under components going to be a problem, or is this common practice?
4) How do I pack as many as possible on a board (say 5cm x 5cm on seedstudio.com) and make it easy to cut them out?
5) I've seen part sourcing and board prototying done through Eagle/element14, is that any good? I was considering sourcing myself and ordering boards from seedstudio.com.

Any comments/feedback appreciated. :)

Offline Mr.B

• Supporter
Re: Eagle newbie, please review
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2014, 07:51:18 pm »
First up... Are you validating against SeeedStudios design rules if you intend to use SeeedStudio?
From their site, download SeeedStudio_DRU_no_angle_20130527.dru or the latest version.
In the section of your PCB shown below, there is plenty of room to move that via to get more clearance.
There are a bunch of such examples on your board that are easily solved.

To try to answer your questions: