Author Topic: Is the latest Eagle any better at differential routing?  (Read 11795 times)

Offline rx8pilotTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • If you want more money, be more valuable.
Is the latest Eagle any better at differential routing?
« on: December 09, 2017, 10:00:06 pm »
I have been using Eagle for a few years - my latest version is 6.5. In general - I hate Eagle in nearly every way I can hate a piece of software but I cannot afford the time or the money to switch at the moment. I have a well setup library and a growing list of ULP's that tie my manufacturing systems together. Setting that up again is worse than dealing with Eagle for design (at least for now).

One of my biggest challenges is designing high-speed PCB's with various types of transmission lines where the geometry has to be very specific. Differential pairs are a total nightmare to route accurately. This is especially true when you need to make small changes after you manually get a pair routed.

I don't like the new subscription-only model, but will gladly push that aside if I can more easily route high-speed boards. Does anyone have any experience with this type of design using the latest version of Eagle. I have not yet found any videos or articles covering this topic.
Factory400 - the worlds smallest factory. https://www.youtube.com/c/Factory400

Offline KE5FX

• Super Contributor
    • KE5FX.COM
Re: Is the latest Eagle any better at differential routing?
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2017, 03:17:58 am »
The MEANDER function in version 7 seems to work well enough once you grok it.  I assume it was the same in V6. 

The autorouter doesn't support differential pairs even in the current Autodesk release, so there's no incentive to upgrade in that regard.

Online MarkL

• Supporter
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2017, 03:21:35 am »