EEVblog Electronics Community Forum

Electronics => General PCB/EDA/CAD Discussions => Eagle => Topic started by: brainwash on May 07, 2013, 03:48:59 am

Title: PCB - cutting surfaces
Post by: brainwash on May 07, 2013, 03:48:59 am
I am helping my father get started with Eagle and he wants to transfer some of his old PCB designs, which means skipping the schematic part and going directly to the board.
I cannot figure out how to subtract from surfaces or cut them in several pieces. By surface I mean polygon; is there any other way do to this?
Title: Re: PCB - cutting surfaces
Post by: envisionelec on May 07, 2013, 04:07:28 am
I am helping my father get started with Eagle and he wants to transfer some of his old PCB designs, which means skipping the schematic part and going directly to the board.
I cannot figure out how to subtract from surfaces or cut them in several pieces. By surface I mean polygon; is there any other way do to this?

You cut the polygon fill with a Wire Layer called tRestrict or bRestrict, top and bottom layers, respectively. Or, just Wire through it and click "Ratsnest". As long as the Polygon and the Wire are different Net Names (such as N$2 and N$3) the Wire will carve out an isolated space around it based on the "Isolate" value.

The amount cut away is determined by the width of the trace + the Isolate value (in the Change [wrench] Menu).

Because you aren't starting with a Net List, you cannot (to my knowledge) use the Route command.
Title: Re: PCB - cutting surfaces
Post by: kizzap on May 07, 2013, 10:41:21 am
Another option is to just place the polygons the shape of where you need it.
Title: Re: PCB - cutting surfaces
Post by: brainwash on May 13, 2013, 05:34:59 am
Hey, thanks a lot for the solution, sorry for not answering earlier.
Regarding the comment of using polygons - it's a lot more work and it's the way I actually did it. Actually, either way it is more work than necessary but at least now I have a better solution.
Title: Re: PCB - cutting surfaces
Post by: kizzap on May 13, 2013, 10:41:21 am
now that I think about it, you can also use cutout in the polygon.  :palm: