Author Topic: Where can a newbie learn about PCB layout?  (Read 4499 times)

Offline engineheatTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Where can a newbie learn about PCB layout?
« on: July 20, 2017, 04:38:01 pm »
I'm about to learn Eagle for a project of mine. I've never done PCB design before. Where can I learn some basics?

I will have a PhD check my design and make modifications if necessary. Problem is, he works with Cadence a lot. Are Eagle files easily convertible to Cadence?

thanks

Offline bgm

• Supporter
Re: Where can a newbie learn about PCB layout?
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2017, 11:20:55 pm »
I'm about to learn Eagle for a project of mine. I've never done PCB design before. Where can I learn some basics?

I will have a PhD check my design and make modifications if necessary. Problem is, he works with Cadence a lot. Are Eagle files easily convertible to Cadence?

thanks

Lets start with the basics of PCB layout. 

Dave actually published a very good article more than 12 years ago. 

Here is a link to it (http://www.alternatezone.com/electronics/files/PCBDesignTutorialRevA.pdf).  Most of it is still relevant even today and that is a good start. 

In regard to choosing Eagle ... yeah ... I will have to say as a "Professional Eagle User" (and when I say that, I say that with a huge amount of sarcasm as my little company was one of those that was stupid enough to pay top dollar for the premium product) ... I can't in good conscience recommend the product as the vendor (Autodesk) is pretty much not to trusted in any way, shape or form. 

In regard to package ...  I really would start with KiCad.  To put that recommendation into perspective, I've been using Eagle since v4 ... and that has been a long time so for us to ditch the product (which is what we are *still* in the process of doing) is a huge undertaking - both in terms of time and cost. 

For low cost commercial, Diptrace isn't half bad.