Author Topic: Butchering QFN-64 Packages, best way to improve  (Read 3300 times)

Offline Glenn0010Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
Butchering QFN-64 Packages, best way to improve
« on: February 21, 2018, 04:25:33 pm »
S I have absolutely butchered 2 QFN 64 packages on expensive pcbs for my project. I often struggle with getting rid of the last tiny solder bridge. The best method I've found to deal with this, is to add more solder a lot of flux and just wick it off that seems to help a lot.

Now my question is how to improve. I am think about ordering 5 atmegas (the cheapest QFN 64 ) I could find and a bunch of cheap PCBs for them to practice

Any other suggestions?

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: Butchering QFN-64 Packages, best way to improve
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2018, 05:14:30 pm »
S I have absolutely butchered 2 QFN 64 packages on expensive pcbs for my project. I often struggle with getting rid of the last tiny solder bridge. The best method I've found to deal with this, is to add more solder a lot of flux and just wick it off that seems to help a lot.

Now my question is how to improve. I am think about ordering 5 atmegas (the cheapest QFN 64 ) I could find and a bunch of cheap PCBs for them to practice

Any other suggestions?

A stencil and solder paste are your friends.

Offline abraxa

• Frequent Contributor
  • Sigrok associate
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2018, 06:25:05 pm »
Are you using a hollow point soldering tip? For me, those work best when there's the right amount of solder in the cavity, just so that it runs out when I reach the end of the row. That way, bridges are a non-issue. They're still easy to wick away either way, so it's hollow point all the way for me.

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2018, 05:16:52 pm »

Any other suggestions?

A stencil and solder paste are your friends.