Author Topic: Can you review my PCB design?=)!  (Read 4780 times)

Offline eKohTopic starter

Can you review my PCB design?=)!
« on: March 10, 2017, 12:32:58 am »
Hello there=)! I am kinda new to the PCB designing and this is my 2nd semi-large pcb design. As I want to improve, I would like to see what my errors are and which things I can improve=)

Bottom Layer:

Top Layer:

And down here I attach the files.

Mediafire - TDS_v3.1.rar

Thank you=)!

Offline dmills

• Super Contributor
Re: Can you review my PCB design?=)!
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2017, 03:28:10 am »
I don't think you have ground continuity (The ground by the SDA pin connects to an island on the blue layer with no connectivity to the other ground pins (Also the right hand connector does the same thing on several pins).

Also, why the almost plane on the red layer for 5V when it would be better to use that plane for ground?

Decoupling caps are a good and happymaking thing, especially when one of the supply rails is so indirect.

Why did DRC not catch the disconnected ground islands? I would fix this and then re run the DRC (and clear the resulting errors) before going any further, especially as I think I still see some rat lines on there.

73 Dan.

Offline MarkS

• Supporter
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2017, 04:45:17 am »
You need to rethink your parts placement. Is the board design set in stone? You are using the Arduino R3, which has female headers. I'm assuming you are going to use male headers on the bottom of your board to mount the Arduino? If so, you can place nearly everything else on the top side of your board within the Arduino outline and both reduce your board size and make routing MUCH easier. You should be able to route this as a single layer board + ground plane.

Offline hammy

• Supporter
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2017, 07:10:41 am »
Your mounting holes look like fiducials.
The way you route the traces is wasting space (and is -sorry- strange ).