Author Topic: Dead bug soldering a 256-pin BGA?  (Read 25036 times)

Offline themacman33Topic starter

• Contributor
Dead bug soldering a 256-pin BGA?
« on: July 05, 2014, 08:10:35 pm »
I found an Altera Cyclone II in a 256-pin FineLine BGA package (1mm pitch)
Unfortunately, the pins were broken out into an internal layer, so I heat gunned it and looked for a breakout online.
Since it is a proprietary package, there aren't any prototyping breakout boards available. I could make my own board, but with such small traces and visas, it's not cost-practical to buy or make a small batch of PCBs. My only option is to dead bug it.

I've dead bugged 14 pin packages before, but nothing this huge and dense.
Is this doable? Any tips? Are there any other options I have?

You may think that it's crazy to do all this for a $27 part, but I'm a high-school student who doesn't have any reliable income. If successful, I will use it to make a prototyping system, or a logic analyser.

Thanks, Mac
</Mac>

Offline zapta

• Super Contributor
Re: Dead bug soldering a 256-pin BGA?
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2014, 08:14:42 pm »
Why not just try it? Worst case you will improve your soldering skills.

Offline jahonen

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2014, 08:17:00 pm »
Our lab guy did it:

Note that above thing has just 144 balls, and I what I heard from him it was quite a job so 256 ball BGA might be too tedious. But it worked just fine.

Regards,
Janne

Offline AndyC_772

• Super Contributor
  • Professional design engineer
    • Cawte Engineering | Reliable Electronics
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2014, 08:27:51 pm »
Don't do all the wires individually. A lot of the pins on a device like this are power and ground, and you'll save yourself some work as well as improving the chances that the finished job works if you figure out which these are and join them together locally at the device.