Author Topic: First SMD Board - Please Critique / Suggest / Help Me Improve  (Read 3265 times)

Offline algorhythmTopic starter

• Contributor
Hello EEVBlog.

I'm a novice getting into surface mount design. This project is a little clock with an Atmega328, Maxim DS3234, and Avago display.  I have no experience with pcb design/layout and would really benefit from some expert advice about what should be fixed or changed to make a better board.

I'd love to hear any critique, suggestions, tips for improvement, etc...

Thanks everyone!

Offline T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
Re: First SMD Board - Please Critique / Suggest / Help Me Improve
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2016, 12:28:07 pm »
Ew, square trace routing!  1985 called, they want their autorouter back!

I see traces joining pads laterally.  This looks bad.  Typically the soldermask doesn't bond well (it's too narrow) and the trace gets covered with solder. Which looks like a short. If you don't know that those pins are supposed to be connected, it looks like bad soldering (or bad PCB design).

Looks like a lot of floating copper, too.  Stitch the top and bottom pours together with vias!

Tim
Seven Transistor Labs, LLC
Electronic design, from concept to prototype.
Bringing a project to life?  Send me a message!

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2016, 12:39:00 pm »
Haha, I suppose there's no accounting for taste.  No autorouter was used but I guess 1985 wants my traces back. 

More seriously though, you're talking about the lateral traces between the DS3234 pads?  Would it be better to make a trace in front of them all and connect to that?

I didn't know if the top pours should be connected to ground or not.  I'll put in some vias.  Is it ok to have some things grounded to the top pours and others to the bottom, or should everything ground to the bottom, and the top is just stitched in?  Should I make the top pour part of the GND signal?