Author Topic: Go-to PCB Manufacturing house?  (Read 3535 times)

Offline ECEdesignTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Go-to PCB Manufacturing house?
« on: May 31, 2016, 07:46:40 pm »
Where do people get their boards made?  There are many different places and its hard to tell which ones are good.  Im a student so looking for low cost but want the quality to be reasonable.

Offline T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
Re: Go-to PCB Manufacturing house?
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2016, 03:34:43 am »
If you want "best" as in quality and service, pick a domestic supplier, and pay for it ($400+ for a custom run).

If you want "best" as in lowest price, it varies by size, layers, thickness and turn time.  Use pcbshopper.com to figure out which are cheapest.

Even the worst Chinese suppliers should meet basic specs (4 mils alignment between silk/solder/copper/drill, 7/7 min trace width/space).

Tim
Seven Transistor Labs, LLC
Electronic design, from concept to prototype.
Bringing a project to life?  Send me a message!

Offline orin

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2016, 04:21:10 am »
Well, he's a student, so he shouldn't be pushing the limits, or at least not producing a design that is pushing the limits!

For small boards, oshpark.com is well regarded, but can get costly quickly at $5 per square inch for three boards.

For larger boards, I like itead studio, but beware of getting close to their minimums.  I just ordered some 2x3" boards - $14.90 plus shipping for 10 of them - about $22 total.