Author Topic: PCB Drawing Parameters, Metric Or Imperial?  (Read 4381 times)

Offline The DoktorTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
PCB Drawing Parameters, Metric Or Imperial?
« on: September 12, 2018, 02:49:24 am »
I'm designing my 1st board in KiCad, and wondering what measurement system to use? I had assumed metric, as most component spec sheets don't even show temperatures in °F anymore, and manufacturing is much less centered on the USA than it used to be. But now I'm not sure. Seems many PCB houses list design rules for track width/spacing in mils only. And most components I'm planning to use have their lead pitch in "Imperial Metric" units (2.54mm, 1.27mm, .635mm).

I'm a hobbyist with no professional future in PCB design. Will mostly be designing fairly simple things like nixie/numitron clocks and various small AVR/ESP8266/ESP32 based gadgets. Both through-hole and SMD will be used. What is your suggestion on which system to use? Also, any suggestions on design rules that will work at the majority of the cheap PCB houses?

Thanks
Ed

Offline asmi

• Super Contributor
Re: PCB Drawing Parameters, Metric Or Imperial?
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2018, 09:18:57 pm »
AFAIK Chinese fabs use metric drills, so if you specify imperial hole sizes they will pick the closest metric.

Offline electrolust

• Supporter
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2018, 06:38:04 pm »
Which doesn't matter. If you use standard hole sizes, drill sizes are wire gauges, and again they will pick the closest.

And holes cannot be drilled to within even the tolerance of conversion error, neither location nor diameter.

I use standard dimensions because it's easier for me to reference the components with the standard footprints.

Offline chris_leyson

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2018, 06:53:32 pm »
Either metric or imperial doesn't matter. I prefer metric because I've been using it for so long. Use the the units you find easiest, mm or mils, 1mil=25um or 1mm=40mil near enough.