Author Topic: What software do you use to make PCBs with microstrip components?  (Read 5675 times)

Offline bjcuizonTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • RF and Analog Electronics Enthusiast
I'm not really sure where to post this thing (I thought I'd put it in the beginners section or in RF,Microwave Section) but anyway, as the title of the topic says, I wanted to ask what you guys use to layout microstrip line components and such. I'm still a hobbyist and I do not have money to spend on professional software like Altium or others...So what would you recommend? Can you use the FreeVersion Eagle/KiCad? :-// Thanks.
Don't mess with an Electronics Engineer, it Megahertz!

Offline Alex Eisenhut

• Super Contributor
  • Place text here.
Re: What software do you use to make PCBs with microstrip components?
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2017, 02:57:36 am »
Well, we do the simulations in Ansys, structures are exported in DXF, imported into Allegro.

Here you can either create a schematic symbol of the component (like a hybrid coupler, or filter) is created, so that the corresponding RF structure becomes a footprint with well defined connection points. Properties are added in the schematic (net_short) on the pins because unless you have the RF feature ($$$) Allegro has a hard time figuring out that a big blob of copper is a RF part, and not a short-circuit.

The advantage of that is that the RF structure can be easily manipulated like any other footprint.

You do need to keep track of units because DXF is terrible, if you import a metric structure as imperial, you're in trouble.

Allegro's RF feature I'm not familiar with. Apparently it lets you create all kinds of structures directly in the layout with parameters from Ansys.

Never tried it. My DXF/footprint approach works well enough for now. I've done many layouts like this with 5 to 6 structures per design.