Author Topic: EEVblab #2 - Are Electronics Hobbyists Useless?  (Read 116483 times)

Offline Sigmoid

• Frequent Contributor
Re: EEVblab #2 - Are Electronics Hobbyists Useless?
« Reply #75 on: December 15, 2014, 04:11:48 pm »
Hmm.  I doubt I'd get far drawing a UML diagram, without being able to look it up. I mean, I've *seen* UML, but I've never used it in over 30 years of writing / designing software so I doubt I'd be able to produce anything coherent from memory. And I have a degree, but that pre-dates UML...

Does that make me an idiot?
I have no idea about the exact field you are in. For the sort of job - enterprise application design - I've interviewed that guy, knowing basic UML was a prerequisite.

I can think of fields where you never draw a single class diagram ever, but they are shrinking. Communicating with fellow humans about the design is just as important as getting the design done. ;)

I was going to ask the same thing,  I"m not given the time to document my code let alone create a diagram.   I also started when I was 8 and was writing 6502 (and later 8086) assembly code by the time I was 12.  Does it make me an idiot that I don't create UML diagrams.   People need to watch what they say.
But would you be able to? Class diagrams are not rocket science. ;)

BTW to answer your question, it doesn't make you an idiot. It makes your boss one. ;)
« Last Edit: December 15, 2014, 04:19:32 pm by Sigmoid »

Offline Richard Crowley

• Super Contributor
  • KJ7YLK
« Reply #76 on: December 15, 2014, 04:13:28 pm »
No, I don't believe the requirements are unreasonable.

We more practical types were frequently suspicious of the theoretical egg-heads who didn't know which end of the soldering iron to hold.

Offline old gregg

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #77 on: December 15, 2014, 04:16:51 pm »
what Dave is asking isn't the minimal knowledge to have for electronics ? I don't see where the issue is actually,  hobbyists or "pro" don't matter.