Author Topic: eevBLAB #3 - Engineers Can't Spell  (Read 58379 times)

Offline Richard Crowley

• Super Contributor
  • KJ7YLK
Re: eevBLAB #3 - Engineers Can't Spell
« Reply #50 on: December 28, 2014, 05:13:07 pm »
(nothing inherently wrong about judging an applicant on irrelevant skills
How are decent communication skills "irrelevant"?
How can someone judge your "relevant skills" if you can't communicate at some acceptable level?

Offline mxmarek

• Contributor
« Reply #51 on: December 28, 2014, 05:17:11 pm »
Hi.
Is it really that hard for professional blogger to make the audio right ?
Cheers :)

Offline Richard Crowley

• Super Contributor
  • KJ7YLK
« Reply #52 on: December 28, 2014, 05:24:01 pm »
Hi.
Excellent point. As an audio professional I asked that myself.
Even though Dave owns a good wireless lav mic (Sennheiser G3), his response was "my audio is as good as any of the other YouTube bloggers.".
So apparently the bar is deliberately set lower.  It is what it is.   :-//

Online Marco

• Super Contributor
« Reply #53 on: December 28, 2014, 05:29:42 pm »

If I had said grin and bare it, would you have understood what I meant?

How can someone judge your "relevant skills" if you can't communicate at some acceptable level?

I'm saying that if you reduce what you consider acceptable to what is necessary to clearly communicate the technical concepts he will be working on you might get better talent (natural language is pretty poor at being unambiguous in the first place and as texting shows can be mangled quite badly while still being interpretable). I wouldn't know one way or the other, I'm just adding the possibility.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2014, 05:35:16 pm by Marco »

Offline jpb

• Super Contributor
« Reply #54 on: December 28, 2014, 05:30:57 pm »