Author Topic: Need advice about EE jobs in US with STEM degree in a different area  (Read 2183 times)

Offline therickamanTopic starter

Hello,

Please allow me to introduce myself, my name is Rick and I am in need of some help or advice.  I recently graduated with a PhD in mathematics and my area of focus was in Computational Mathematics.  Up until a couple of years ago I thought I'd want to teach math, but during the time I was in school I accepted a consulting job for a small startup company doing electronics, but they were in need of a mathematician.  This sparked my interest in electrical engineering and truthfully, I  always thought that I'd do more applied math geared in the direction of engineering anyway.  This is why I have a masters in numerical analysis and went into computational mathematics.

As stated above, I'd like to do electronic engineering...but at the same time, I don't want to waste the degree I have.  I've looked online for jobs and it appears as though I need several years of work experience to even qualify.  So, I guess my question is where should I apply?  What job should I apply for?  I've always been the kind of guy who teaches himself things, because I'm so curious by nature.  I outline some of the skills that I have below, but things I don't think I possess physical qualifications for.

I know how to program, in many different languages.  In particular, my favorite and go to language is C.  I also know my way around assembly (self-taught), C++, java, and python.  The only true educational experience I have in this area is that as an undergraduate I minored in computer science.  As an undergraduate, I got a coauthored a research paper about calibration of robotic arms using an "eye in hand".  I believe the name of the robot language was named Q, but could be wrong. I also contributed work for a C math library and found a few bugs for that library.