Author Topic: Would you hire a self taught embedded software developer?  (Read 24179 times)

Offline tggzzz

• Super Contributor
  • Numbers, not adjectives
    • Having fun doing more, with less
Re: Would you hire a self taught embedded software developer?
« Reply #100 on: December 04, 2017, 07:37:37 pm »
The trick is to make sure it doesn’t matter if that does happen. Design for failure first.

Yes, if you can - it isn't always possible.

But then you run into those that believe YAGNI is a valid architecture strategy. Always presuming, that is, that they have even thought of the "its" that cause failure.
There are lies, damned lies, statistics - and ADC/DAC specs.
Glider pilot's aphorism: "there is no substitute for span". Retort: "There is a substitute: skill+imagination. But you can buy span".
Having fun doing more, with less

Offline tggzzz

• Super Contributor
« Reply #101 on: December 04, 2017, 07:41:37 pm »
The trick is to make sure it doesn’t matter if that does happen. Design for failure first.

I think the trick these days is work out what the problem is called so you can google it. :)

Ability to search and disseminate information from the internet would be high on my list of skills for a new employee.
The ability to recognise a 'difficult' problem early and ask/look for help, without going too far down the rabbit hole is another important skill.

A simple search for 'solving the byzantine generals problem' gives plenty of leads and good information.

And there's the "chicken and egg problem" in a nutshell: you can't search for something if you don't know the name, or won't search for it if you haven't conceived of the problem in the first place.

That's particularly likely to occur in those that haven't been through a halfway decent theoretical course. Seen that all too often :(
Glider pilot's aphorism: "there is no substitute for span". Retort: "There is a substitute: skill+imagination. But you can buy span".

Offline hendorog

• Super Contributor