Author Topic: Programmers for simulation program loudspeakers and acoustics  (Read 4652 times)

Offline b_forceTopic starter

• Super Contributor
    • One World Concepts
I have been working professionally as an acoustic engineer for the last 10 years.
Unfortunately, the amount of free and/or open source programs is very slim.
The ones that are on the market are extremely limited, difficult to work with, buggy or simply just have an horrible interface.

The goal of this project is to develop something that would be easy accessible for everyone (limited for private use only).
Yet have all possibilities and freedom to completely change or add extra features, graphs, filters (passive, active and digital). Think of an hybrid between a CAD/Spice program in combination with text fields/menus.

What I am looking for, are programmers (I think 1 - 4 would be enough??) who have some knowledge about filters, DSP, audio, loudspeakers etc, or are willing to gain that knowledge.
Are strong in mathematics and have a good sense of what is needed for engineers.
I also expect that you will come with your own ideas and show initiative, since I ‘only’ have some basic programming skills (mostly in programming ucontrollers/electronics etc).
Key here is to make something that’s easy to use, so the interface is very important.

What’s in for you?
Unfortunately I don’t have the funds to pay you monthly. So see this as a big boost in your resume (which I can tell from a team leader/head of department point of view, is even more important). Of course also just the fun, learn some extra skills (from a professional ;) ) and the idea of making the open source community greater.
Maybe in the future there will be something more, but I have to work that out first.

What’s my role in this?
I will provide the needed information, articles, papers etc. Check if everything is working correctly and being technical lead on the engineering side (helping with formulas, filters, definitions etc).