Author Topic: Would you hire a self taught embedded software developer?  (Read 24227 times)

Online tggzzz

• Super Contributor
  • Numbers, not adjectives
    • Having fun doing more, with less
Re: Would you hire a self taught embedded software developer?
« Reply #75 on: October 24, 2017, 02:35:21 pm »
Yes. Getting paid is difficult if you're contract/freelance. The best thing to do is have strict terms and enforce them immediately. Even then you have some shit to deal with. It took me 7 months to get a month's worth of cash once and I had to take them to small claims court. And that was a UK government agency.

I know one contractor who sorted that problem by declaring one of the many GEC companies bankrupt. The money arrived by motorcycle courier.

I believe the preconditions were that more than a certain amount was not paid (?£10-15k?), and that the debt was uncontested. After that it was simple form-filling :)
There are lies, damned lies, statistics - and ADC/DAC specs.
Glider pilot's aphorism: "there is no substitute for span". Retort: "There is a substitute: skill+imagination. But you can buy span".
Having fun doing more, with less

Online tggzzz

• Super Contributor
« Reply #76 on: October 24, 2017, 02:37:58 pm »
I’ve always handled this by telling them to go with the $500 and that I would be there if they needed me at a later date. The majority of the time I would get a call a month later when the lowball quote totally screwed up the project.

When I was writing proposals and contracts for a contract r&D house, the director's usual response was "pay peanuts, get monkeys". I wasn't aware that it stopped any contracts being signed.
Glider pilot's aphorism: "there is no substitute for span". Retort: "There is a substitute: skill+imagination. But you can buy span".

Offline bd139

• Super Contributor
« Reply #77 on: October 24, 2017, 02:48:16 pm »