Author Topic: Interactive Html Bom Plugin  (Read 13547 times)

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: Interactive Html Bom Plugin
« Reply #25 on: November 21, 2018, 06:01:30 pm »
qu1ck: I am just wondering if there is a chance to have something similar, which would highlight complete tracks based on nets, or at least highlights a pad associated with the net.

Certainly in Kicad 5.0.0, that feature already exists. From the main menu choose Inspect then List Nets. Select a net and it is highlighted in the layout.

Additionally, I would like to also have an option for selecting a different layer for part outlines. For example, I don't use the solder mask layer but F.Fab and B.Fab.

Those layers are built into the footprints. I think that the most-up-to-date standard Kicad libraries actually do what you want -- the outlines (or at least part body) are on a fab layer. Look at them to see if they are what you want. Otherwise, you can modify the footprints as you like and save them to your own libraries.

Offline qu1ckTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #26 on: November 21, 2018, 07:56:28 pm »
qu1ck: I am just wondering if there is a chance to have something similar, which would highlight complete tracks based on nets, or at least highlights a pad associated with the net.
As noted in a reply above, Kicad can already do that, no plugin needed.

Additionally, I would like to also have an option for selecting a different layer for part outlines. For example, I don't use the solder mask layer but F.Fab and B.Fab.
This plugin aims to assist with manual population of the board. That is you have a board in one hand and bunch of components you need to place in a pile. On the pcb render only things that you can actually see on the board are drawn: silkscreen and pads (solder mask layer is ignored). That helps you visually identify places where each component goes.