Author Topic: Just gave KiCAD another go after 5 years and wow!  (Read 9866 times)

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: Just gave KiCAD another go after 5 years and wow!
« Reply #25 on: December 07, 2017, 04:55:14 pm »
I'm just wondering if KiCAD is really eager to evolve into such an advanced software. If it does, it is not for the hobby users any more. Such complex software needs a lot of time to get used to it. I'm sure this is not the focus and goal the development team after all. If it stays on the current level, it is ok. There is a need for it! All these Makers and Hobby users have the need for such a good software. But the other side of the coin is: It will not be on par with professional software. This is just not possible. If you win professionals you lose hobbyists.  :-//

Rather than wondering and guessing and reading tea leaves, perhaps you should sign up for and lurk on the developers' email listserv. Then you will plainly see what they are doing, how they choose priorities, and how carefully they consider the implications of their design decisions.

Start here: https://launchpad.net/kicad

The following users thanked this post: hammy

Offline b_force

• Super Contributor
    • One World Concepts
« Reply #26 on: December 07, 2017, 06:03:38 pm »
This topic started were KiCad will be in 5 years time, so I just gave my few cents to that.
With the 'todo list' they showed a few months back in their presentation, I am extremely sorry to say that I don't really see it going anywhere. 
Hopefully I am wrong.

Yes, you are wrong about everything. You don't even know what a customer is!
Some people on this forum are just to funny.
Guess they just assume every single person on this forum is just their to ruin there lives and don't even think about somebodies background.