Author Topic: Kicad - GUI is Horrific!  (Read 59295 times)

Offline DocaraTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Kicad - GUI is Horrific!
« on: October 04, 2018, 06:44:53 pm »
Now I will admit I am a complete novice using Kicad. I will also acknowledge I haven't read all the documentation I should have done. But my God the interface of Kicad is F***ing HORRIFIC!!!! Why can't I have multiple schematics in a project - I have one project with a requirement of 4 PCBs. Why can I have multiple sheets without 'hierarchy'. Why can't I import a schematic into an empty Project (because I accidently loaded Eeschema independently). WHY is the F***ing cursor permanently snapping on the screen so annoying...The list goes on!!

By way of making a point before I get a right royal kicking from the Kicad fan boys. I loaded up Circuitmaker and proceeded to try and enter the same circuit as I was trying to do previously. After struggling with the daft component selection system (Kicad does this way better) within a couple of minutes I had tens of components placed and wired up with nice intuitive right click mouse clicks a appropriate. What an out and out pleasurable experience. It is such a shame I now have to go back a trawl through Kicad's documentation to figure out how to use it.

I this day and age we should not have to sit on the bog with a tablet reading software's instruction manuals. SOO lets think about this laterally, you have loaded up a word processor. Would you expect to have to read the instructions before you work out how to type 'words' in - NO.

If Kicad developers want to make a HUGE difference to their users lives the ought to take a leaf out of CM/Altiums user interface. With what Kicad can do it would quickly become the go to PCB package. You know I would pay for Kicad if the paid option was for a useable interace.

Raant Over
Doc

The following users thanked this post: kony, tooki

Online Bud

• Super Contributor
Re: Kicad - GUI is Horrific!