EEVblog Electronics Community Forum

Electronics => PCB/EDA/CAD => KiCad => Topic started by: sentry7 on March 09, 2017, 03:15:33 pm

Title: Multiple schematics for a project
Post by: sentry7 on March 09, 2017, 03:15:33 pm
Hey guys,

Suppose I have a project that I want to revise. Can I make a copy of the original .sch file, name it accordingly, and then put it in the same folder? Will this cause issues?
Title: Re: Multiple schematics for a project
Post by: kripton2035 on March 09, 2017, 05:02:24 pm
no you can do it like that.
Title: Re: Multiple schematics for a project
Post by: valere on March 11, 2017, 02:00:40 pm
If you are careful about the libraries, it's doable.
Create a new project, add the required library, then the correctly named sch file and hope the version change didn't break everything (resistor and cap size change last year or something like that when progress on general coherency has been added)...
Title: Re: Multiple schematics for a project
Post by: sentry7 on March 11, 2017, 02:09:49 pm
I asked the folks at the KiCad forums and one suggestion was to have the main project in one folder, and then a subfolder for each revision. A lot neater, and no risk of the program (or me) getting confused.
Title: Re: Multiple schematics for a project
Post by: valere on March 13, 2017, 11:26:23 pm
I asked the folks at the KiCad forums and one suggestion was to have the main project in one folder, and then a subfolder for each revision. A lot neater, and no risk of the program (or me) getting confused.
Right, I actually misunderstood your question, I was thinking that you wanted to get the schematic from another of your project for a new one.
The other good way for revision would be to use GIT, it works quite neat with Kicad files I think, especially by adding the right file extension to the ".gitignore". Granted, the learning curve of GIT is far from being the simplest one.
Title: Re: Multiple schematics for a project
Post by: Dago on March 14, 2017, 07:50:38 am
Yes definitely use some proper version control like Git or SVN rather than play around with multiple files.
Title: Re: Multiple schematics for a project
Post by: richardlawson1489 on March 15, 2017, 10:05:04 am
Yes, You can do multiple schamatic for a project. Check it out. It may help you. http://re-innovation.co.uk/web12/index.php/en/blog-75/315-multiple-sheet-schematics-in-kicad (http://re-innovation.co.uk/web12/index.php/en/blog-75/315-multiple-sheet-schematics-in-kicad)
Title: Re: Multiple schematics for a project
Post by: DougM on April 03, 2017, 08:21:01 pm
Not sure if this exactly addresses the OP question or not, but KiCad does indeed allow for multiple schematics within a project. Not only that, they are hierarchical, meaning you can have a schematic, within a schematic, within a schematic etc.

I particularly like this for repeated blocks of stuff. A change in the schematic describing a single block shows up in the other "instances" of the same block.