Author Topic: Advice on stainless stencils – What do I need to know  (Read 2948 times)

Offline Mr.BTopic starter

• Supporter
Advice on stainless stencils – What do I need to know
« on: July 17, 2017, 11:15:39 pm »
As a hobbyist I have designed and built many SMT circuits.
I usually have 10 boards made by Seeed Studio, but only build a few, maybe 5 at most.
Apart from the first few where I hand applied the paste, I have used OSH Stencils to make my mylar/kapton stencils.
I have had a very high success rate and am very pleased with the mylar stencils.
I use two ‘L’ shaped pieces of 1.6mm acrylic to lock the PCB in place and support the stencil.
These were supplied by OSH Stencils and work very well.

My latest project is much higher volume, for me at least, and I am building 50 fairly simple boards for a community project.
The boards measure 160mm X 58mm and have about 25 components.
(The boards are that big because they need to provide mechanical support for a similar sized LCD display.)

With this run of PCBs I have ordered a stainless stencil – electropolished, not framed.
Why did I do this?
1. The price of stainless stencils out of China is now down to a level that is not much more expensive than OSH Stencils.
2. I have read that the mylar ones are reasonably good for up to about 20 uses, after that they start to deteriorate.

My question is:
Is there any special considerations I should be aware of when using stainless stencils over the mylar ones?

Many thanks in advance.
I approach the thinking of all of my posts using AI in the first instance. (Awkward Irregularity)

Offline Mr.BTopic starter

• Supporter
Re: Advice on stainless stencils – What do I need to know
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2017, 11:23:38 pm »
Thanks @blueskull,
The stencil is already on its way.
It is the non framed version.

I am assuming that there is no special considerations when using it - just treat it the same as I have with the mylar ones?