Author Topic: Any recommendations where to buy components, cheap?  (Read 2777 times)

Offline koendvTopic starter

Any recommendations where to buy components, cheap?
« on: September 05, 2016, 01:53:03 pm »
I'm a hobbyist; sometimes I design a board, have a pcb made, buy some components and solder it myself.

Most of us buy components at sites like digikey, farnell/newark, radio spares, mouser. These sites have a great choice of components, and quick delivery. But sometimes I just want my components cheap, even if delivery takes a month.

So I'd like to ask: do you know of any Chinese/Shenzhen web sites, where the components are cheap and the shipping cost is low? It doesn't matter how long delivery takes.

regrds,

Offline nowlan

• Frequent Contributor

Online wraper

• Supporter
Re: Any recommendations where to buy components, cheap?
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2016, 03:11:56 pm »
do you know of any Chinese/Shenzhen web sites, where the components are cheap and the shipping cost is low?
Not the right question. It should contain ...and not counterfeit. Some parts are pretty safe to buy, others are almost guaranteed to be fakes.

Offline bob1033

« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2016, 03:46:58 pm »
Anything bought from the Chinese/Shenzhen web sites will have a element of risk to them. Resistors can be a mixed bag, I've bought some perfectly fine resistors from Aliexpress and some that will change resistance from the heat in your hand! Capacitors can be of questionable quality. I've bought one or two IC's form Aliexpress and they worked as expected but they were only 30 cents cheaper than mouser. To me, if I spend my time designing a circuit and having a PCB made, an extra 30 cents is worth knowing I have a spec part. However, if that's not important to you, I've had success with good-rated Chinese eBay stores or Aliexpress. Don't know if it's the same in Spain, but in the US you can usually get $1 shipping with most of the stuff from china.