Author Topic: Cheap PCBs for really low volume  (Read 26650 times)

Offline Fantasma25Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
Cheap PCBs for really low volume
« on: January 05, 2014, 01:01:44 am »
Hello. I'm a beginner at PCB prototyping and I'm working on a small power supply project in eagle that I'd like to build. The problem is that most PCB manufacturers charge pretty much the same for one board as for 50 or 100 boards (between $200 and $300 USD), and since this would my first project, I would only want to make maybe 2 or 3 boards. Do you know some manufacturer that charges like $5 or $10 or maybe $20 USD per board? Or what should I do in this case? :-//

Offline Rerouter

• Super Contributor
  • Question Everything... Except This Statement
Re: Cheap PCBs for really low volume
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2014, 01:03:12 am »
what are your board dimensions? and layers?

there are plenty, seedstudio for one,

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2014, 01:12:16 am »
what are your board dimensions? and layers?

The board is about 1.03 x 2.24 inches and has only 2 layers. All through-hole.

there are plenty, seedstudio for one,

I will take a look at those. Thanks!

Offline dfmischler

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2014, 03:29:06 am »
I have used Laen's PCB order (now OSH Park).  Really cheap, and plenty good enough for my purposes.  Note the lead time info before ordering.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2014, 03:35:12 am by dfmischler »

Offline Kohanbash

• Regular Contributor
    • Robots for Roboticists
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2014, 03:57:09 am »
I would second Oshpark. It is $5 per sqinch and you get three boards.

It is also a good submission process for your gerber files. They show you what *they* think your board will look like and each layer to help catch problems.

Just be careful since they can only accept a single drill file and quality can vary.
« Last Edit: April 02, 2014, 02:00:26 pm by Kohanbash »