Author Topic: Chinese PCB Fab Security  (Read 4438 times)

Offline robotix3Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
Chinese PCB Fab Security
« on: March 05, 2018, 03:05:23 pm »
I saw that PCBway recently started allowing you to upload Altium PCB files instead of just exported gerbers, which is a great improvement. This brought up a conversation about definitely not doing this because this gives the fab basically everything they need to assemble the board and this one file could be leaked and clones could be made, new products could be compromised, etc. Most of my co-workers agree that even sending just the gerbers to a over-seas fab is a bad idea. I've been using PCBway for a few years now and I view them as being a pretty professional company and feel comfortable letting them handle my designs.

I could see this being a risk if your Apple or something, but is this a risk for small to medium sized companies (not household names)? Has anyone had a clone of their design and suspect it was due to this? I wouldn't bother discussing this if there were plenty of affordable US fabs...

Offline elecman14

• Supporter
Re: Chinese PCB Fab Security
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2018, 04:06:15 pm »
Clones have happened to products I used to work on. It is unlikely the PCB design files were used in the copy. Reversing a PCB and getting a bom, netlist, gerber, firmware are possible and fairly cheap from some overseas vendors. Last time I looked it was a couple hundred usd for a complete reverse engineering of a product.

If you are manufacturing you should be auditing your PCB suppliers fairly regularly. Understanding how they safe guard your design is one of the audit items. This involves the design files and also what happens to scrap PCBs.

If it makes your feel better just send the gerbers. If someone wants to copy your product it will more than likely happen no matter what file format you send.

Offline james_s

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2018, 04:14:04 am »