Author Topic: Ever had a PCB design refused?  (Read 3710 times)

Offline stevenhoneymanTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Ever had a PCB design refused?
« on: August 07, 2015, 12:44:05 pm »
I've only just done my second (ever!) PCB layout to be manufactured properly so I'm still very new to this. Both times I've breathed a sigh of relief when I get the "Your design was accepted and will now go in to production" e-mail! I was curious - has anyone ever had a design not be accepted (for reasons other than a bad gerber file or it was 10x bigger than it should have been or something)? I wonder how much checking they do with design data for ultra cheap boards. E.g. if you used a couple of 5mil traces on a 6mil minimum, would they instantly detect this and refuse to even try and produce it?

Offline c4757p

• Super Contributor
  • adieu
Re: Ever had a PCB design refused?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2015, 12:47:31 pm »
Heh, I can't add too much to the discussion because I don't actually remember what the issue was, but I have definitely had one rejected. Might have missed a layer or something.

If you violate the design rules in a way that they can still try to manufacture, they almost always will. If you use a 5mil trace on a 6mil minimum, they won't care, they'll make it anyway. Remember - the minimum is just set by the point at which the yield starts to fall. It's actually often a perfectly valid endeavor to violate this minimum on purpose and just accept the low yield. I've done it before, when I was having ten boards made and only needed one anyway. There are plenty of posts online from people who have done this intentionally to try to make use of some part, typically a BGA, that was technically impossible within the supplied specifications.
No longer active here - try the IRC channel if you just can't be without me :)

Offline rea5245

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2015, 02:42:40 pm »