Author Topic: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)  (Read 47371 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Cliff Matthews

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1474
  • Country: ca
    • General Repair and Support
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #725 on: August 15, 2018, 12:31:01 am »
Wow, did treez design that thing? Looks almost improvised.
That's a compliment.. isn't he due to finish primary school soon?  :-//
 
The following users thanked this post: SeanB

Offline Cliff Matthews

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1474
  • Country: ca
    • General Repair and Support
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #726 on: September 01, 2018, 12:51:04 pm »
Testing driving 1.3 firmware today, display update's smooth (no more hi-lo or too fast to read stuff). I can clearly read overshoot-undershoot values, but even soaked sponge-dunking, it's not off by more by 12c during a 2 second recovery.
 
The following users thanked this post: Shock, Bud

Offline Cliff Matthews

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1474
  • Country: ca
    • General Repair and Support
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #727 on: September 06, 2018, 11:11:43 pm »
Update. During the last week I caught a glimpse of chatter between beta testers and responsiveness of the software team. I even had a nit-pick over ISB wake-up and Pace included that too. I don't know when I'll receive my next PLCC, but they do listen  :-+
 
The following users thanked this post: PACE-Worldwide

Offline PACE-Worldwide

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 122
  • Country: us
    • PACE Worldwide Website
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #728 on: September 07, 2018, 12:32:48 am »
Update. During the last week I caught a glimpse of chatter between beta testers and responsiveness of the software team. I even had a nit-pick over ISB wake-up and Pace included that too. I don't know when I'll receive my next PLCC, but they do listen  :-+

Cliff,

They'll be an update probably by early next week, so you should receive a new PLCC Chip (and chip puller) by the week after.

Aaron
 
The following users thanked this post: Cliff Matthews

Offline Cliff Matthews

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1474
  • Country: ca
    • General Repair and Support
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #729 on: September 12, 2018, 06:18:29 am »
Update. During the last week I caught a glimpse of chatter between beta testers and responsiveness of the software team. I even had a nit-pick over ISB wake-up and Pace included that too. I don't know when I'll receive my next PLCC, but they do listen  :-+

Cliff,

They'll be an update probably by early next week, so you should receive a new PLCC Chip (and chip puller) by the week after.

Aaron
Aaron I'm not so concerned for that update.. I am more concerned for Pace families braving the arrival of Hurricane Florence!
Please take care down there!
 

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2719
  • Country: ca
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #730 on: September 13, 2018, 04:17:38 am »
@PACE-Worldwide
When you guys will ship the product that includes this update to distributors? Is it another couple months?
 

Offline PACE-Worldwide

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 122
  • Country: us
    • PACE Worldwide Website
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #731 on: September 13, 2018, 03:30:24 pm »
@PACE-Worldwide
When you guys will ship the product that includes this update to distributors? Is it another couple months?

Distributors are notified and provided with new chips when the updates are officially released. But I'll post a notice here with instructions on how to obtain an update firmware revision (which are provided to existing customers free of charge), probably next week.

Aaron
 
The following users thanked this post: Bud, Cliff Matthews

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2719
  • Country: ca
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #732 on: September 13, 2018, 03:51:25 pm »
Honestly i do not believe many distributors would enthusiastically open hundreds of boxes and change the firmware chips, unless they are maybe obligated to do so by contract with Pace.
 

Offline PACE-Worldwide

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 122
  • Country: us
    • PACE Worldwide Website
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #733 on: September 13, 2018, 09:50:35 pm »
Honestly i do not believe many distributors would enthusiastically open hundreds of boxes and change the firmware chips, unless they are maybe obligated to do so by contract with Pace.

Unfortunately, you are correct. But since these are simple tweaks to the firmware that enhance usability, it won't matter that much except to the most discerning customer. In any case, if a customer requests an update, they will receive the new set of chips.

Aaron
 

Offline glarsson

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 684
  • Country: se
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #734 on: September 13, 2018, 09:54:02 pm »
Why not upgrade through the USB port?
 

Offline labjr

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 131
  • Country: us
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #735 on: September 13, 2018, 09:55:09 pm »
Why not upgrade through the USB port?

I don't think it has a USB port.
 

Offline PACE-Worldwide

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 122
  • Country: us
    • PACE Worldwide Website
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #736 on: September 13, 2018, 09:57:30 pm »
Why not upgrade through the USB port?

I wish the ADS200 had a USB port! But it does not. You have to unscrew the front panel, remove a socketed PLCC chip, then replace with the new firmware chip. Yep, we acknowledge it's a hassle.

Aaron
 

Offline glarsson

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 684
  • Country: se
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #737 on: September 13, 2018, 10:55:07 pm »
I know about the missing USB port. I just don't know why Pace is making it more difficult and expensive for itself. Firmware update by pulling chips, slotted screw and nut (not production friendly) to attach voltage regular to heatsink and so on. Weird.
 

Offline PACE-Worldwide

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 122
  • Country: us
    • PACE Worldwide Website
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #738 on: September 14, 2018, 12:06:12 am »
I know about the missing USB port. I just don't know why Pace is making it more difficult and expensive for itself. Firmware update by pulling chips, slotted screw and nut (not production friendly) to attach voltage regular to heatsink and so on. Weird.

Not weird at all. We were able to achieve the extremely low price point of the ADS200 by using the same basic pc board for multiple products, simply by adding or subtracting certain components. So this board is used in several other products such as our desoldering stations. It's a proven board design that has been ultra reliable since 2009. That's why there seems to be a huge amount of space on certain parts of the pcb. The extruded case is also used in multiple products. Adding new elements to the design (i.e. USB port) would add significant cost to the overall product, so we decided it was better (and far less costly to the customer) to go with the older design. Make sense?

Aaron
 

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2719
  • Country: ca
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #739 on: September 14, 2018, 12:09:23 am »
Once the product matures , the usb port will not be needed. I never used USB on my JBC station since bought it maybe 3 of 4 years back. I do not think was any upgrade repeased which was worth doing it.
 
The following users thanked this post: PACE-Worldwide

Offline alank2

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1919
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #740 on: September 14, 2018, 12:11:32 am »
I agree; and as long as Pace is willing to send out a chip update at no charge I certainly don't mind changing it.
 
The following users thanked this post: PACE-Worldwide

Offline glarsson

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 684
  • Country: se
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #741 on: September 14, 2018, 12:39:39 am »
But what about the screw holding the heatsink? The cost of upgrading it to a more production friendly variant (e.g. Torx) would be low and would reduce production cost.
 

Offline PACE-Worldwide

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 122
  • Country: us
    • PACE Worldwide Website
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #742 on: September 14, 2018, 12:54:04 am »
But what about the screw holding the heatsink? The cost of upgrading it to a more production friendly variant (e.g. Torx) would be low and would reduce production cost.

I'll send the message to our Engineering.

Aaron
 

Offline asmi

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 509
  • Country: ca
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #743 on: September 15, 2018, 01:54:33 am »
I've order a unit for myself at TEquipment, but it's stuck somewhere in US due to the odd way they do shipping into Canada :(
Anyhow, it just occured to me - in case of any warranty issues, does anyone knows if PACE has any representation/service workshop in Canada, or stuff will have to be shipped into US should any problem appear? If the latter is the case, shipping costs of turnaround for a base unit due to weight will likely be a significant fraction of a unit retail price.
 

Offline labjr

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 131
  • Country: us
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #744 on: September 15, 2018, 01:58:41 am »
I've order a unit for myself at TEquipment, but it's stuck somewhere in US due to the odd way they do shipping into Canada :(
Anyhow, it just occured to me - in case of any warranty issues, does anyone knows if PACE has any representation/service workshop in Canada, or stuff will have to be shipped into US should any problem appear? If the latter is the case, shipping costs of turnaround for a base unit due to weight will likely be a significant fraction of a unit retail price.

Maybe they would let you remove and send in the main board since there isn't much else to go wrong?
 

Offline PACE-Worldwide

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 122
  • Country: us
    • PACE Worldwide Website
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #745 on: September 15, 2018, 02:17:36 am »
I've order a unit for myself at TEquipment, but it's stuck somewhere in US due to the odd way they do shipping into Canada :(
Anyhow, it just occured to me - in case of any warranty issues, does anyone knows if PACE has any representation/service workshop in Canada, or stuff will have to be shipped into US should any problem appear? If the latter is the case, shipping costs of turnaround for a base unit due to weight will likely be a significant fraction of a unit retail price.

Outside of the US, we sell and service through our local authorized distributors in that country. But since you are buying through Tequipment, a US company, it complicates it a bit because you have have to either deal directly with PACE or Tequipment in the States if there is a problem. It's easier to deal with Arbell or Accessotronik (our primary Canadian distributors) as they can easily replace items then get PACE to reimburse, than to deal long distance with a US company. But no distributor is going to want to support a customer who bought from his competitor. I realize that you may get a better deal by purchasing through a US distributor, but you do risk incurring those shipping costs and turn-around lead times if you decide to do so. On the bright side, it's rare that we have to fulfill warranty claims where we require the customer send back the product as this is time consuming and costly to both the customer and PACE.

Aaron
 

Offline asmi

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 509
  • Country: ca
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #746 on: September 15, 2018, 02:38:56 am »
Thanks for your quick response!
Outside of the US, we sell and service through our local authorized distributors in that country. But since you are buying through Tequipment, a US company, it complicates it a bit because you have have to either deal directly with PACE or Tequipment in the States if there is a problem. It's easier to deal with Arbell or Accessotronik (our primary Canadian distributors) as they can easily replace items then get PACE to reimburse, than to deal long distance with a US company. But no distributor is going to want to support a customer who bought from his competitor. I realize that you may get a better deal by purchasing through a US distributor, but you do risk incurring those shipping costs and turn-around lead times if you decide to do so.
Actually my decision to order at Tequipment didn't have anything to do with the price. I've checked both these distributors' websites, and the former one (Arbell) didn't seem to have ADS200 in stock, while the latter's website did not inspire much confidence (not working currency switch - I couldn't figure out if the price they are showing is in US or Canadian dollars), so TEQ was the only one that actually had a working website which they actually wanted their customers to use, had units in stock and shipping charges were not that large. I will admit that it was a bit of an impulse buy after my current soldering station called quits on me in the middle of the soldering - normally I'd called Accessotronik to sort out all questions (especially so since they seem to have a location in Toronto, which is about 1 hr drive away from me). Oh well, it's too late now - money are paid, the stuff is shipped and is stuck somewhere in IL for the last couple of days, but I hope it will make its way to me eventually.

On the bright side, it's rare that we have to fulfill warranty claims where we require the customer send back the product as this is time consuming and costly to both the customer and PACE.
Well I guess I will have to find out at my own expense if once-revered "Made in USA" quality is still worth anything nowadays ;)
 
The following users thanked this post: PACE-Worldwide

Offline PACE-Worldwide

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 122
  • Country: us
    • PACE Worldwide Website
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #747 on: September 15, 2018, 02:43:18 am »
Thanks for your quick response!

Well I guess I will have to find out at my own expense if once-revered "Made in USA" quality is still worth anything nowadays ;)

We'll make it worth your while!

Aaron
 
The following users thanked this post: asmi

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2719
  • Country: ca
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #748 on: September 15, 2018, 02:48:31 am »
Accessotronic only has a guy in Toronto, not equipment stock. The warehouse is in Montreal i believe.
 

Offline asmi

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 509
  • Country: ca
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #749 on: September 19, 2018, 11:58:36 am »
Finally received the unit and tips today. Didn't have time to give it a good run yet (just soldered few things mostly to see if it's working OK), but so far so good.
BUT - I wasn't impressed with the packaging. I don't know if it's PACE's fault, TEQ, Borderfree, or DHL, but the packaging leaves something to be desired. The main unit's bag was all torn apart and pieces of it were just dangling on the corners of unit, the tips (they were shipped in a separate box with just them and big airbags) were out of their plastic tubes and all over the box. I had to fish one of the tips from under the carton flap on the bottom of the box. After such treatment it was somewhat ironic to see that some of the tubes contained soft cushions seemingly to protect fine tips ;D

But to PACE's credit, despite some obviously brutal treatment the unit and tips received on their way to me everything seems to work great and the main unit looks undamaged! So hats off to PACE - that unit is built like a tank and acts like one too! :-+

I have one question though - I couldn't figure out what the stuff on attached photo is for. I tried to download the manual, but the link to user manual on your product page is broken and leads to nowhere (404). I've found a link to user manual in the quickstart guide, but there is nothing regarding these things. I know this is quite possibly a really dump question, or maybe my brain doesn't work well that late in the evening, but still I would like to know what it's for ::)
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf