Author Topic: silicon wafer manufacturing  (Read 10721 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
silicon wafer manufacturing
« on: April 16, 2016, 01:39:51 pm »
Hi,
Assume that I have designed a simple chip, I just wanted to manufacture it,I need 90nm manufacturing capability, where is the cheapest place to order them? what sort of prices should I expect? anyone with the experience would enlighten me very well,
Thanks in advance.
ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Offline amyk

• Super Contributor
Re: silicon wafer manufacturing
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2016, 03:27:13 pm »
http://cmp.imag.fr/products/ic/?p=prices2016

No 90nm there but you can get an idea of the prices.

Given your location, try http://www.wafercat.com/

Offline coppice

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2016, 04:07:26 pm »
http://cmp.imag.fr/products/ic/?p=prices2016

No 90nm there but you can get an idea of the prices.

Given your location, try http://www.wafercat.com/
Its worth noting that although CMP distribute the design kits without charge, they only seem to support Cadence.

Offline uncle_bob

• Supporter
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2016, 08:24:37 pm »
Hi,
Assume that I have designed a simple chip, I just wanted to manufacture it,I need 90nm manufacturing capability, where is the cheapest place to order them? what sort of prices should I expect? anyone with the experience would enlighten me very well,
Thanks in advance.

Hi

How many full wafers do you need a week and for how many years?

Do you need them packaged or are bare die ok?

Do you need any testing done? If so what sort of testing (microwave / digital / precision linear)?

What sort of chip is it (digital / linear / RF / optical / ...) ?

What sort of material do you need (silicon ... something fast .... something exotic ...) ?

Do you care about a $250K mask set charge up front (or $1M) ?