Author Topic: Using KICAD....Help  (Read 2425 times)

Offline Big DuckTopic starter

Using KICAD....Help
« on: April 17, 2018, 10:44:13 pm »
I am brand new to Kicad. I used the footprint editor to create a footprint for a Bourns PTL series linear fader. I can not figure out how to put it in a library so I can use it on a layout of a board that I want to make.  The whole "library" thing is quite puzzling.
PLEASE HELP!!! 

Offline hermit

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Using KICAD....Help
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2018, 04:19:42 pm »
The Kicad forum has a good FAQ on the library issues.
https://forum.kicad.info/t/faq-index-thread/8890

Offline ElektroQuark

• Supporter
    • ElektroQuark
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2018, 07:34:43 pm »
Do you read Spanish?
If so, here you have the best KiCad guide that has been ever written (in any languages):

http://elektroquark.com/forokicad/index.php?topic=4.0

Offline fourtytwo42

• Super Contributor
  • Interested in all things green/ECO NOT political
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2018, 07:58:31 pm »
I am brand new to Kicad. I used the footprint editor to create a footprint for a Bourns PTL series linear fader. I can not figure out how to put it in a library so I can use it on a layout of a board that I want to make.  The whole "library" thing is quite puzzling.
PLEASE HELP!!!
Don't worry, your not alone, every single CAD system out there has a confusing library system and they all take time to learn, unfortunatly unlike the drawing system itself there are no intuative standards. I am pretty stupid but got there in the end :)

Offline iabarry

« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2018, 02:59:50 am »
Sorry to be a month late with this...
In the FootPrintEditor:  File:  Set Active Library

Make the foot print you  want.

Edit the FootPrint Properties (menu item with a gear over and IC near the center top). Mostly this is verify the name.

In the graphical menu at the top, select the 2nd item:  Save Footprint in Active Lib

Online Doctorandus_P